April 8, 2018

Development Cup 2018 Tournament Format and Structure


Development Cup 2018 Tournament Format and Structure

The tournament will follow a structure of two rounds of pool play followed by bracket play for the top eight teams and consolation games for the bottom five teams. This structure allows for the maximum amount of games so that teams can develop over the weekend.

There will be four fixed seeds, one in each group initially. These seeds will be the top two ranked teams from Northern and Southern; St. Andrews Snidgets, Glasgow Grim Reapers, Bathilisks, and Oxford Quidlings. There will then be a first round of pool play in these groups; A, B, C and D. These groups have been drawn as follows:

Development Cup 2018 Official Group Draw




Glasgow Grim Reapers


Stirling Ridgebacks


Northern Lights


St Andrews Snidgets


Preston Poltergeists


London Unbreakables




Northern Wyverns Quidditch – Belfast


Sheffield Sealions


Oxford Quidlings


Manchester Minotaurs


The Flying Catapults (Kent/Liverpool)


Derby Daemons

Pool Play

After the first round of pool play is complete, the groups will be reshuffled into new groups; E, F, G, and H. This will be done by the top ranked team in each group moving “up” a group e.g. A into D, B into A, C into B, and D into C, and the lowest ranked team in each group moving “down” a group e.g. A into B, B into C, C into D and D into A. In the case of group D, the two bottom teams will move into pool A. This is to ensure that there is more even number of games played by the team initially in group D and that teams aren’t disadvantaged by initially being put into group D.

In order to rank the teams, the QuidditchUK ranking criteria that was used for BQC will also be used for this tournament:

1. Select as appropriate:

1a. For Ranking Intra-Group: Number of Wins

1b. For Ranking Inter-Group: Group Position

1c. For Final Rankings: Stage of Elimination

2. Highest Quaffle Point Differential (QPD), with a maximum of 90 QPD able to be accumulated from any single game

3. Head to Head (where applicable)

4. Number of Winning Snitch Catches

5. Lowest Total Regulation Time Played

6. Fewest Red Cards

7. Fewest Yellow Cards

8. Fewest Blue Cards

9. Coin toss

There will then be a second round of pool play and rankings will then be determined. The rematch that would occur between the two teams that have moved into group E (D3 and D4), will not be played to again ensure that teams aren’t disadvantaged by initially being put into group D.

Once pool play has finished, teams will be split into two groups, group X (those that played four games) and group Y (those that played five games). These groups will then be ranked according to the ranking critera specified above.

Bracket Play

The top four teams of group X and group Y will progress into bracket play to determine their final rank. The remaining teams of group X and of group Y will play a series of consolation games.

The consolation games will consist of the following: X5 vs X6 and Y6 vs X7. This will be followed by a three way round robin between the winners of these two games and Y5.

QUK Staff

By QUK Staff
April 8, 2018

Share this article


  • Contact Us
  • Leadership
  • All Clubs
  • Results
  • Videos
  • Season Fees
  • Quidditch Europe
  • International Quadball Association


QuidditchUK and its activities are not licensed by, sponsored by or associated with Warner Bros., J.K. Rowling or their affiliates. ‘Quidditch,’ ‘Harry Potter’ and all related names, characters and indicia are trademarks of and © Warner Bros. – Harry Potter publishing rights © J.K. Rowling. QuidditchUK is a Non-Profit Company Registered in England and Wales, Company Registration No. 12178866

Quadball UK
Quadball UK

All Rights Reserved © 2024 QuidditchUK